Bug #17073

Permission links originating from users should only update that user

Added by Peter Amstutz 27 days ago. Updated 13 days ago.

Status:
New
Priority:
Normal
Assigned To:
Category:
API
Target version:
Start date:
Due date:
% Done:

0%

Estimated time:
(Total: 0.00 h)
Story points:
-

Description

The incremental permission updates presently operates on the principal that for each target_uuid included in the result, it returns every user with permission to that target_uuid. Because it is exhaustive, permissions are removed for any user/target combination not in the result set.

When a permission link is being added, this strategy can lead to unnecessary work, because it returns permission rows for users that already had permission. It should be possible for "permission added" operations to compute only new permissions and merge the results.

When a permission is changed or removed, we don't know if some or all users still have permission via some other path, so we probably have to continue the current behavior which recomputes permissions for users of the selected targets.

When a permission link originates at a user, the permission change can only affect permissions for that specific user. In this case, the update should recompute permissions for only that user.


Subtasks

Task #17089: ReviewNew

History

#2 Updated by Peter Amstutz 27 days ago

  • Description updated (diff)

#3 Updated by Peter Amstutz 27 days ago

  • Assigned To set to Peter Amstutz

#4 Updated by Peter Amstutz 27 days ago

  • Target version changed from 2020-11-04 Sprint to 2020-11-18

#5 Updated by Peter Amstutz 14 days ago

  • Target version changed from 2020-11-18 to 2020-12-02 Sprint

#6 Updated by Peter Amstutz 13 days ago

  • Target version changed from 2020-12-02 Sprint to 2020-12-16 Sprint

Also available in: Atom PDF