[Workbench] Want to remove projects from Home
In my qr1hi-tpzed-rv6f0l8lbvdzkog#Subprojects, I'm trying to delete New Project and New project (2). When I use either the trash can or the checkboxes and remove them, they get removed from the screen, but when i refresh, they're still there.
I expected them to get removed
#1 Updated by Brett Smith almost 5 years ago
- Subject changed from Cannot remove projects from Home to [Workbench] Want to remove projects from Home
- Category set to Workbench
- Target version set to Bug Triage
Remember that Arvados generally wants to keep data somewhere, for reproducibility. Normally, when you delete something from a Project, what happens is that it gets moved to the Home Project—the same place it would be if you never put it in a Project to begin with. This is true even when you try to remove something from the Home Project: it gets reassigned to… the Home Project. That's why you're seeing the behavior you do.
Definitely I understand that this is confusing and we should do something about it, but it's not immediately obvious what the right answer here is. Do these projects have data in them? Would you be okay with that data moving back to your Home Project? I assume you want the Projects to go away completely so they don't clutter your Project pulldown, etc.?
If they're empty, one workaround is to rename and reuse them next time you need to start a Project. ;)
#3 Updated by Brett Smith almost 5 years ago
- Story points set to 1.0
From discussion with Tom:
- We should actually delete empty projects.
- Ideally, we don't render the delete button for non-empty projects.
- If that's too hard, we should at least return an error when someone tries to delete a non-empty project, so the Ajax wipe animation doesn't happen.
#5 Updated by Sarah Zaranek over 3 years ago
Bryan Cosca wrote:
Ah, I just wanted the Projects to go away completely so they dont clutter. I'll use the workaround, thanks!
I have come late to the game, but I have the exact same use case as Bryan. I have old projects - either mistakes or test projects - that I really don't want cluttering my space. Also, can we just remove the trashcan so that people don't try to delete them - having the trash can is really deceptive :)