Project

General

Profile

Story #18390

Updated by Peter Amstutz 5 months ago

“Frozen” project state is modeled with a new boolean attribute of Arvados projects called "frozen”.    Users with “can_manage” permission are allowed to set "frozen".    Once set, "frozen" state cannot be cleared, except by an admin. 

 The "frozen" state applies recursively to everything owned by the project: collections, workflow provenance, etc.    Objects owned by the project cannot be independently un-frozen (but they can be copied).    To modify an object inside a frozen project, the entire project must first be un-frozen (which can only be done by admins). 

 Objects that are frozen or are owned directly or indirectly by a project in the frozen state are read-only and cannot be modified by users that would normally have write permission, including admins. 

 * Cannot create/move objects within a frozen project (owner_uuid of a create or update operation cannot be a frozen project) 
 * Cannot move objects out of an frozen project (owner_uuid of frozen object cannot be changed) 
 * Cannot update any other field on archived objects, e.g. “name”, “manifest_text” 
 * Cannot delete objects owned by archived project or modify trash_at, delete_at 
 * Cannot freeze a project that contains objects with “trash_at” or “delete_at” set (attempt to set “frozen” will return an error with at least one object uuid which is blocking freezing) 
 * Cannot trash a project that contains frozen objects (attempt to set “trash_at” will return an error) 
 * Users with “can_manage” permission can still control sharing (create and remove permission links for frozen objects) 

 The system will record the user uuid that froze the project.    Will be Implemented by setting a property “frozen_by_uuid”. 

 Make it configurable that In order to freeze a project, the description field or some other named properties must be non-empty. 

 The following Workbench 2 features will be implemented by the customer: 

 * Add button to Workbench 2 enabling users to freeze a project (with warning).    Workbench 2 will determine if an object or direct/indirect owner is frozen and adds an “Frozen” badge to the display. 
 * Workbench 2 feature to assist in making a project valid to freeze: If items exist with “trash_at” or “delete_at”, prompt user if they want to un-trash all of them, or move them out of the project to be frozen.    New API calls will be added to be used by Workbench 2 to determine if a project is valid to freeze, and implement bulk un-trash or bulk relocation of trashed items in a project. 

Back