Bug #16970

Updated by Peter Amstutz about 1 year ago

[login federation] [experiment run from satellite cluster] [WB2]

Steps to reproduce:

* create new project

Bug 1:

* go to the sharing dialog
* click 'Advanced'
* change sharing level from Private to Shared
* click 'SAVE'

At this point the sharing dialog loads again, *no* error is displayed, and the sharing level is reset to *Private*. Clearly, WB2 can't make this change (why?) but it is not showing an error message to the user.

TODO: either fix the behavior so that this change is possible, or make it impossible to select 'shared' from the dropdown, or make sure the error message is displayed to the user.

Bug 2:

* go to the sharing dialog
* click 'Advanced'
* change sharing level from Private to Public
* click 'SAVE'
* close sharing dialog, re-open it, verify that 'Public' was indeed saved
* change sharing level from Public to Shared
* click 'SAVE'

At this point the sharing dialog loads again, *no* error is displayed, and the sharing level is changed to *Private*.

Clearly, WB2 can't make this change (why?) but it is not showing an error message to the user. It is changing the level from Public to Private.

TODO: make sure the level is not changed to Private when the user didn't ask for that. Also, either fix the behavior so that this change is possible, or make it impossible to select 'shared' from the dropdown, or make sure the error message is displayed to the user.

PA:

This is bad UI.

Selecting "Shared" on its own doesn't do anything. You have to actually add a user or group to share with.

However, if it is actually shared with another user, and you change the state from "Shared" to "Private", then that does has the effect of deleting any sharing links.

Going from "Public" to "Shared" has the effect of deleting sharing with "Anonymous Users" but if you don't add a user to share with, it is equivalent to "Private".

Back